When You Find Yourself Using too Many “Very”s…

When I write, I like to note repetition (especially in novels–in poetry, your repetition counts!) so I can avoid it. Redundancy alerts always flash in my head the minute I read a sentence that uses the same word twice! I’m currently working on a chapter in my novel, and when editing, it dawned on me. I tend to utilize that annoying and most of the time unnecessary “very” in my writing. I found this very helpful [and funny] quote by Mark Twain (whose quotes I can always relate to for some reason >.>)

Substitute ‘damn’ every time you write ‘very;’ your editor will delete it & the writing will be just as it should be. ~Mark Twain

And there you have it! Although, I’m not sure if one’s editor will take out the word “damn” today…unless you use it way too many times xD It turns out the word “very” is one of the Five Weak Words that Make Your Writing Less Effective. Check out the article if you’re looking for ways to increase the effectiveness of your writing (and more importantly–your descriptions in writing.)

What are your thoughts?

Leave a Reply

