You Waited Too Long

Boo boy trouble. Booooo. Ugh am I the only one dealing with wishing I had said something but I didn’t? xD ๐Ÿ˜› {I know I lack consistency in this poem as far as structure and stanza length goes, so let me know if that takes away from the poem at all}


My breath has been snatched by the nerves that buzz within me.
I talk too much or I talk too littleโ€”but I never talk to him.
Only an hour waits, standing on a ledge, ready to leap .ย  .ย  .
And once the sand trickles to the bottom,
I know I cannot turn the glass upside down to start again.

And in that moment I realize I have to do something
Or he will be out of my fingertips and back into the world.
But instead of putting one foot forward ย ย ย ย ย ย I rest it there.

Knuckles crack and hair falls in front of my face.
I bite my lip and try to meet his eyes.
But they do not meet mine.
And then he is gone.

My heart falls into an abyss I cannot bring it out of.
Sweat begins to emulate the moisture that meets
the lids of my eyes.
I know I have just eradicated something
I have never had before.

Frustration settles in my mind, and all I can think about
is not the ceremony of gowns and certificates
or the flashing of cameras
and the eruption of โ€œCONGRATULATIONS.โ€
Why should I be congratulated?
My fears have won.

His face begins to fade in and out of focus.
My window has been slammed shut and the air turns cold.
My door has been locked and I am back to square one.
And under my breath I vow to grab tightly to the ropes next time
instead of letting them go for fear of falling.


 

11 thoughts on “You Waited Too Long

    • Me neither! I literally just write without stopping xD But I appreciate that โค I was thinking of starting a poetry workshop on here, where we can submit poems to each other and review one another's pieces. I will figure out how to set it up, but what do you think? What with NaPo coming up and all ๐Ÿ˜›

      Liked by 1 person

      • Nah whether you “think” your poems or bad or not, I think it would be a great experience to offer whatever knowledge we have ๐Ÿ˜› And I doubt your poems are bad. We all gotta start somewhere, anyhow xD My poems used to stink, and they probably still do sometimes ๐Ÿ˜› So would you like to do it? I’ll ask Ilaria and Alexis too ๐Ÿ™‚ Do you know any other bloggers from CWC?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hey Grace! That’s a great idea! Why don’t we make it part of the Scripturientfriends site? I’ll be announcing the blog at Thursday’s meeting, and I can talk about it then. I’m not sure how involved I can be with the actual workshop, as I’ve got way too many hobbies and things I’m running as it is, but I’d like to drop in every now and then if I can. Or at least help it get started. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

