Three Day, Three Quote Challenge (I’m Alive, Btw!!)

Hey poets, it’s been forever! *squishhugs*

Okay, now that that’s out of the way, I have some cool news to bring you. A good friend of mine has started up her writing blog! How exciting is that? Check it out: My Daily Inkling. She nominated me for the Three Day, Three Quote challenge (eek!

My first nomination!)

erin-happy

So here are the rules *quietly copies and pastes them from Daily Inkling’s blog*

1. Thank the person who nominated you! (Thanks, My Daily Inkling!) [Who is also an awesome friend!]

2. Post a new quote for three days in a row!

(Which means I actually have to come back to this blog three days in a row lol)

We don’t need to share the same opinions as others, but we need to be respectful.
~Taylor Swift

The reason I chose this quote is because I’ve been experiencing a lot of situations where I’ve had to state this. Our society has become a mess; we’re easily offended, we argue, we sue, we disagree. But you know what we forget to do? Respect people. Yes, I wasn’t too happy about today’s ruling on gay marriage in all 50 states. It’s not my personal belief that same sex marriage should be legalized. But I don’t shove it in people’s faces, because I respect their decisions. I don’t agree with them, but I will not undermine people for who they think they are. It’s unfortunate that that opinion gets shot down without being considered. For instance, WordPress decided to replace the regular banner on the Reader page with a rainbow banner in celebration of today’s decision. Now how is that respecting people who don’t believe in that? You can’t just tell me to look away and ignore it, or accept it. I will not accept it. I believe many would be angered by a Christian symbol being used as the banner, because not everyone is a Christian, and many don’t support Christian views.

So why is it that we are ignored? Just because we don’t have popular belief doesn’t mean you can undermine me. Taylor Swift, though I don’t always agree with her decisions, is entirely right here! She speaks bluntly and sums up exactly what we need to do in this society.

Respect one another. That means respecting my beliefs, and I respecting yours. You can’t tell me what to do, and go back and tell me what to do. It doesn’t sound fair, because it isn’t. God tells us to love one another. In situations where we disagree, we must learn to tolerate and understand. You should be open minded, but you don’t have to accept or subject yourself, compromise your beliefs, just for the sake of others. In this situation, I am unable to change the banner, so I am subjected to look at the something I don’t agree on. I know it’s hard to draw the line between fairness and unfairness. I know we all want what we think we deserve. Freedom of speech is a right, definitely. But with that right must come respect for others. Remember that not everyone believes in this. Not everyone thinks gay marriage is right. What would’ve been right is giving me the ability to change the banner. You’re still expressing your belief, but it’s not forced on me.

(So did not use to this tag as a rant.)

Update: (I so did not forget the third rule PSHHH)

1. Tag three people! (You must tag three new people each day) So I don’t know many bloggers, but I nominate:

* Misty

*Emily

*Alexis

Hope you guys participate! (You don’t have to, of course ;))

Keep poeting!~

2 thoughts on “Three Day, Three Quote Challenge (I’m Alive, Btw!!)

  1. I love this post, Grace. Especially the example you used – with gay marriage. I’m in the same boat as you when it comes to that situation… (sigh). I don’t agree with people who are okay with same sex marriage, but you know what? That doesn’t mean I hate, or disrespect them. I think that’s something a lot of people need to learn: that sometimes, it’s okay to “agree to disagree,” and let the matter go peacefully that “You believe one way, and I believe the other, but I respect your values if you’ll respect mine.” It’s the same concept as the Golden Rule! Even though I don’t agree with everything Taylor does or stand for, that is a wonderful quote you chose! She’s definitely right there. Hopefully I can do this… maybe over this weekend! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re spot on, Emily! It’s sad that both sides fail to see this; why must we use hate and discrimination to get our point across, when we can kindly do what you said?
      Ha ha you certainly don’t have to, but I thought I might give this challenge a go. I don’t even know nine bloggers; guess it’s time to hunt some down xD
      God bless!

      Like

Leave a Reply

