My Guitar

Plus a fun giveaway!

Hey, fellow poets!

In my English II class, I was challenged to write a cumulative or periodic sentence. I decided to write cumulative, because I’ve always been fond of its type of structure. I figured writing long lengthy clauses is fun, and really useful in building up to a powerful ending. In the Live Lesson I attended, we each had to write a sentence mirroring one of the styles, and so I wrote one. It was well received by all the students and for that I’m very flattered, because I too really like it. It’s just one sentence!

I am placing my fingers on the steel strings, closing my eyes to capture the story, remembering the first time they jarred the silence, feeling the notes against my calluses, biting my lip when I almost forget, listening to the melodies they speak to me, constructing them, looping them together, building them up until they chorus within me—the guitar is my piece of paper, and my fingers the pen.

Writing about guitar has been really cool for me, because I love to play and because I play often I feel I can accurately depict for others what it’s like to play, and what it means to me. I think that’s very important to remember when writing, even if it’s just one sentence. In order to relate to readers accurately, you need to write what you know. In doing so, you won’t have to stress over trying to imagine or guess what something feels like, tastes like, etc. It will flow naturally, and come off as real and true!

I encourage you to research both sentence structures, select one and write a sentence mirroring its style on something you know very well. Then post it to comments 🙂 Which one do you like better?

Happy writing!

Grace~

ALSO: my favorite author, Heather Vogel Frederick, is hosting a giveaway for her brand new book that will be released in the spring, The Mother-Daughter Book Camp. Her series, the Mother-Daughter Book Club, is one of my favorite book series 🙂 I encourage you to check it out!

Leave a Reply

