Quote of the Day Challenge {Day One}

Greetings fellow poets, writers, readers, bloggers! (I should really come up with a more general, yet effective greeting, but eh. Later, my friends, later).

Today I found I was nominated by the wonderful Truuty@TruthandBeauty to complete the Three Day Quote Challenge! The rules are to post one quote a day for three days, but really whenever you want. I was nominated for this challenge before, and I only completed one day, but you can post quotes for as long as you like, or as less as you like. You also have to nominate three new people each day. Thank you so much Truuty! Everyone, check out her blog–it’s truly beautiful 🙂 [see what I did there *coughs* :P]

Anyway, here we go!

“I have not,” said Tirian angrily, “I serve the real Aslan.”

“Where’s he? Who’s he? Show him to us!” said several Dwarfs.

“Do you think I keep him in my wallet, fools?” said Tirian. “Who am I that I could make Aslan appear at my bidding? He’s not a tame lion.”

So I don’t know if this counts as a legitimate quote, but I love it anyway. This was taken from Chronicles of Narnia The Last Battle by C.S Lewis. I LOVE the Chronicles of Narnia, which you guys probably know by now, and I remember reading this section and feeling

the-last-battle-cover-image

I own this cover

totally inspired. There is so much truth weighted in such a statement. For Christians, we see the Narnia series as a parallel to our faith–Aslan is God (not to mention Lewis was a Christian apologetic). In this book, Aslan has not appeared to Narnians for several centuries, so some believe he is only a legend since they have never seen him, while others still believe he is real from Tradition. There is an evil (and quite bossy) Ape that lives in Narnia who believes Alan is only a legend and devises a plan to become rich by pretending to be Aslan. He makes others believe Aslan has finally come back after such a long period of absence from Narnia, and takes advantage of all the Narnians who still believe Aslan exists and has actually returned. He makes all of these greedy requests, all while pretending “Aslan” says the terrible actions are okay. I don’t remember exactly if the Ape was telling the Narnians what Aslan wanted, or if the donkey did (?), but I know for sure the donkey reluctantly let Ape dress him in lion skin to pretend to be Aslan.

Tirian

King Tirian

The current King of Narnia, Tirian, still believes Aslan exists and knows the “Aslan” who has returned is fake. But he’s one of the few who keep their faith, for many others believe Aslan was never real at all, especially now because of this Ape business. Tirian tries to convince the angered dwarves who don’t believe, and they pull a card we see all too often: “Where is he? I don’t see him. Show him to me. Show me the real Aslan you speak of.”

Tirian’s response is why I love the books SO much.

I see all too often people claiming if they can’t see God, if God doesn’t show Himself, then God doesn’t exist. I see God all around me, in my community and through close friends and fellow Christians, in nature He created and so on and so forth. But others believe concrete evidence of an actual ‘supernatural’ being is the only way they’ll ever believe. And I understand that many people strongly hold this mindset, and there’s not much we can do to change that.

We can’t, however, show God to anyone upon request, or for that matter, at all. We can’t control Him or manipulate Him for our benefit: it doesn’t work that way. He is our Father and King, we are His Children. God isn’t some thing we can whip out from our wallets and show questioning people. I really felt something reading those words. Lewis really constructed a realistic world (to some extent LOL) based on conflict and doubt of a higher being (Aslan), plus the responses and reactions character have that we would use in everyday life (also I reference The Silver Chair here, when the characters are in an underground world and the evil woman/queen living there is convinced there is no Sun above her world, but these loyal followers of Aslan do not let her persuasive rhetoric convert them to believing the same thing).  I’ve found myself being stronger in my own faith by reading these books. They definitely inspire and relate important messages and morals.

This passage has become one of my favorites from the Narnia series. The Chronicles of Narnia rocks!

Today I nominate:

Misty

Clara

Tsteely 

What did you think of this quote? Have you read Narnia? (Misty I know you have :P) 

God bless!

~Grace

13 thoughts on “Quote of the Day Challenge {Day One}

  1. Thanks so much for nominating me! I’m just supposed to post a quote from a book each day for three days, and nominate three people each day. Right? 😛
    I’ve read and loved Narnia, and the Last Battle is so amazing. 🙂 That is one of my favorite quotes from Narnia! ❤ I used to try to get into Narnia when I was little. XD

    Liked by 2 people

    • Haha I totally agree, it’s an awesome quote! No, you can do any quote you want to, from a movie, book, real person, etc., it doesn’t matter 🙂 Whatever quotes you want to share with us!!
      And oh my goodness, same! I watched the first movie in the actual theater when I was about six, and I wished I was Lucy 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for the nomination! When I was younger, my mother owned one of the books, and I read it, but at that age I didn’t know it was part of a series!(Oops :P) Anywho, I would love getting back into it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That’s a good quote. I nominated you for the unknown bloggers challenge on my blog, if you want to check it out (you don’t have to do it right away, since you’re already doing this.)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

