Quote of the Day Challenge {Day 2}

Happy Monday fellow poets and writers!

I’ve decided to do three quotes for the challenge, one from yesterday, one today, and one tomorrow. Today is going to be a Latin quote, because Latin is love. ❤

Rident stolidi verba Latina

{Fools laugh at the Latin language.} ~Ovid (famous Latin poet)

I love Latin, and it’s quite often many of us Latin lovers are faced with the same overused

Ovid_NewBioImage

Ovid and his awesome laurel wreath

response: “What’s the point in learning it if nobody uses it?” It’s true, many people have already taken the phrase “dead language” to mean there is no point in studying and learning Latin. Sure, it’s not spoken by civilizations anymore, but that doesn’t mean there is no point to learning it. Plenty of my friends have rolled their eyes, dubbed me a “nerd,” or have told me I’m being silly and wasting my time.

Far from it, suckers 😛

Those who find studying Latin pointless are fools. I’m not saying they are stupid, I’m saying they just don’t realize the beauty of the Latin language because they’ve never been fully introduced to it. It’s like the concept that people criticize what they don’t understand. You don’t know what something means, so why should you agree with it or endorse it? I would be a hypocrite if I said I never made fun of something I didn’t know. As a child it was in all of our natures to single the odd one out. I’ll admit, I never thought homeschooling was a positive thing until I was actually homeschooled. I thought it was weird, but from my experience, not at all. So now my friends are the only ones who think I have no friends because I don’t go to a traditional school (kind of contradictory if they are my friends, don’t you think? LOL).

The point of this ramble is: don’t laugh at something just because you don’t understand it or have never experienced it. Latin is embedded deeply in the English language. So many of our root words and vocabulary derive from it, not to mention our grammar and syntax (with some modifications, of course). It’s a gateway to reading the famous works by Julius Caesar, Catullus (beware), Ovid, Vergil all on our own without the aid of someone else’s translation. It gets our brains thinking, because translating Latin is like solving a puzzle. (And don’t I know it). You learn about Ancient Roman history and so many cool things, too. Many employers want those who can think outside the box, and Latin certainly aids with that. I mean I’m only speaking for myself here, but the language is definitely loved by thousands.

Take some time to research what you might be potentially laughing at. You’d be amazed at what you’re actually missing! (And this isn’t to say, you have to actually learn the language or experience whatever you don’t know to understand it, but at least conduct some research to know it’s really not as bad as you might think it is). 😉

Nota Bene: The quote was taken from Ovid’s collection of works “Tristia,” Book 5 poem 10. The passage roughly translates (I haven’t translated it myself): “I have to communicate by gestures. / Here, I myself am a barbarian, understood by nobody, / And the ignorant Getae mock [my] Latin [words], / And they always say all sorts of bad things about me in my presence, / Perhaps they object to my exile too.” (when Ovid was in exile from Rome). This means that Ovid was among those who didn’t understand his language and mocked him for it. The quote has evolved today to be “Fools laugh at the Latin language.” Are the meanings similar? In a way, I think so.

The people I nominate today:

Leah

Josie

Grace (there are so many Graces I follow, so you know who by the link xD)

Valet! (Farewell)

~Grace

9 thoughts on “Quote of the Day Challenge {Day 2}

  1. So true! I’ve taken Latin for school many times before. I think it’s a very interesting language! Haha, I get “but how do you make friends??” Because I do homeschooling/online school. XD

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love that quote! I’m often teased about learning a “dead language,” but I’m proud to be learning Latin. It’s very helpful to know for the SAT and other areas in school, and very helpful when learning other languages. I find it interesting how Latin seems to be the foundation on which so many of our modern languages are based off of. I see lots of Latin roots and such in English, Spanish, French, etc. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

