Once Soundtrack

Greetings everyone! Wow, I haven’t done a music post in a while, and I should really do so more often. However, today I bring you a soundtrack that I absolutely love! I wonder, how many of you truly love an album in its entirety? Like, you could listen to every single track and enjoy it. It seems, and I could be wrong, that as we progress in this digital age, less and less albums are being enjoyed in their entirety, less albums are being bought. All you need to do is purchase a single song (after the album’s been released, not just singles released before the album officially comes out) on your phone and enjoy that song. We create playlists with just the songs we like, which are mostly from different artists, etc.

I’m not trying to generalize, but that just seems to be the path we’re going down. I don’t think there’s truly anything wrong with it, but I also think we would be surprised at how much more we could love an artist when listening to all the songs on an album. A few of mine are Taylor Swift’s debutFearless and Speak Now, the Cranberries’s No Need to Argue and Everybody Else is Doing It, So Why can’t We? and the Once Soundtrack.

This soundtrack is golden.

Like the other aforementioned albums, I love every song on the album and listen to it in full (like right now!). And look at the album cover. THEY’RE WALKING ON A GUITAR NECK. ❤ Of course, I love some songs more than others, but I definitely appreciate every song. Every song is so distinct from the next, and there’s always a unique element I love about each.

Once is a 2007 Irish film, starring two extremely talented musicians Marketa Irglova and Glen Hansard who play two “struggling musicians” in Dublin. The film follows their budding romance through the course of a week, I think, where they write songs together and fall in love. The actors (Hansard and Irglova) actually wrote and performed the ENTIRE soundtrack for the film. This just wasn’t a film where the soundtrack was written by someone else and then they just sang it. These two wrote the entire composition, and that makes it special to me.

Now, I know I have a lot of younger readers on here, so I don’t recommend you watch the actual film (I haven’t been allowed to see it yet, but I will be able to later this year) because the foul language is pretty bad and frequent. It’s not normal to any of us, but I think it was used so often because it’s fairly normal to them. I don’t agree with that, but I just want to see them performing the music.

And boy is the music AMAZING.

Reading reviews on the album, I found a sufficient description of the soundtrack: organic. It really is organic. If you listen to any of the songs, I don’t doubt you’ll feel the raw emotions and effort put into each melody, to each verse. I think the most emotional songs are The Hill, Leave, Say it to Me Now, and Falling Slowly. It was hard to even discern which were emotional, because frankly they all have an element of strong emotion embedded in them.

~Particular Tracks I Love~

The Hill

The Hill has actually been my favorite track ever since I first started listening. The piano is what really captured me, and the weak yet pained vocals hit it home. I learned how to play the melody on the guitar, and gosh it’s just so beautiful. The violin adds a ribbon of beauty towards the middle of the song when she plays the bridge. I’ve never seen the movie, so I only can imagine what she’s talking about in this song, but recently I watched the scene online and wow. It’s incredible. It’s simplistic, yet oh so powerful. My favorite verse:
“I know you can’t do it all, but you can’t say I’m not trying.”

Falling Slowly

Probably the most famous track from the album is this one. I learned how to play this about two years ago on guitar, and my sister and I performed it at our old school’s talent show. It’s such an emotional piece, and I can’t love it enough. The piano, the violin, and the guitar marry so well together. The two voices can’t be touched. If you want a slower, softer song, take a listen.

Trying to Pull Myself Away 

Every album needs that one you can just jam to. This song is the one on this album. I love the grunge of the guitar, especially in the chorus. It makes me imagine about a guy trying to catch a girl who’s leaving on a train (even though the lyrics are just the opposite haha). The violin in the second verse is very beautiful and adds nicely. Definitely love it.

All the Way Down 

Another beautiful, but sad track. The guitar is so pretty (he’s such an amazing guitarist!). The chorus is my favorite part of the song.

Gold

“Gold” is definitely an Irish folksy type song. I didn’t prefer it at first, but I’ve definitely warmed up to it. The guitar is very beautiful, and watching this acoustic session was amazing. You can see how much they’re into it as they play, and the fiddle accompaniment adds an element of Irish to it, haha! (and Hansard’s red beard also does not fail in making you think ‘Irish’).

When Your Mind’s Made Up

(warning: there is one bad word in here, in the beginning of the second verse)

This is probably one of the most beautiful, heart-wrenching songs for me on the album. Like the piano in the chorus is lovely, and the screaming (it’s not screamo lol) is so raw and real and the intensity is what brings it to a new level.

I feel like my descriptions can’t do the listening experience justice, so I recommend you just listen to the album rather than taking my word for it xD Everything about the music inspires me, whether to become a better musician and lyricist, or to  follow the messages in the songs. I just wanted to share this gem of a soundtrack with you. I totally get it if some of you like it and some of you don’t, because we’ve all developed different music tastes from one another. However, I hope this post has led you to a new music discovery 🙂

Have you ever heard of Once? Have you listened to any of these songs before? What did you think of them? Let me know below in the comments!

Pax in Christo!

~Grace

14 thoughts on “Once Soundtrack

  1. Yay for more music to listen to! This movie is also a Broadway musical, which just makes it even more fabulous in my opinion 🙂 I’ve already heard and love Falling Slowly, so I should probably listen to the rest of the album too!

    -Grace (trueandpure.wordpress.com)

    Liked by 1 person

      • Actually listening to it as I type this 🙂 Really enjoying it so far! I’m going to listen to the movie soundtrack and the Broadway cast soundtrack and see which one I like better or if both of them are equally good (which is probably the case).

        Liked by 1 person

      • That’s awesome! Which ones have you especially liked so far of the original? I’ve only heard two-three songs from the broadway, I should really try listening to the whole soundtrack of it too 🙂
        The two actors actually formed their own band, the Swell Season. Some of their songs are really good (like the acoustic version of Fantasy Man omg).

        Like

      • I really like Falling Slowly on the Broadway cast better than the movie cast. They’re both really good of course, but I think I like the Broadway actors’ voices better for that particular song.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

