NaPoWriMo Day #1: Lunes and Haikus

Happy Friday everyone! It’s April and it’s NaPoWriMo time.

Today both the napowrimo prompt and the Creative Writing prompt challenged me to write a shorter style poem: a lune and a haiku. The lune is actually an American haiku with a syllable pattern of 3-5-3, but there’s also another variation where the word pattern is 3-5-3 (therefore any syllable pattern is appropriate, the words just have to be 3-5-3). The haiku, of course, is the Japanese style poem that follows a syllable pattern of 5-7-5.

The prompts were:

  1. write a haiku about something you can only hear
  2. write a lune

My haiku:

The notes of a bird
ring out a sharp melody;
a constant chirrup.

My lune:

Were you aware
that I couldn’t breathe without
your words, dear?

Were you aware
my thoughts were quite consumed
by your laugh?

Were you aware
my heart actually ached with
feelings prior unfelt?

Are you aware
that I wish I was
able to disappear?

Are you aware
that you’ve killed my spirit
without even trying?

Just one word
it’s all you’d need to say
for complete obliteration.

A flame started
First a soft glow kindled
now burning shamefully.

Were you aware
the day you saw me
was the day–

i first learned
my heart could be torn
by a stranger.

10 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo Day #1: Lunes and Haikus

  1. Those were great! I just did my first day of NaPo this morning so reading yours while I do mine will be fun 😀 If I can even keep it up 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’d never heard of a lune before; I may have to try it sometime. Both of these poems are gorgeous. I especially love the lines, “First a soft glow kindled / now burning shamefully.” Awesome contrast. =D

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

