The Book Lover’s Tag

Greetings everyone! I haven’t done a tag in a while, so now’s the time to do one (and break up this long string of NaPo posts, hehee).

I was tagged by the fabulous Emily@FortheBookish (her website design is amazing, you have to check it out!)

Here are the questions:

1. Do you have a specific place for reading? 

I do–the majority of my time spent reading is on my bed in my bedroom, whether that be right before bed or during the day. It’s obviously the most comfortable place (and we all want to be comfortable while we read, right?) So definitely on my bed, propped up against a pillow. And of course in that position rarely do I want to be disturbed ugh.

bf47nFm

2. Bookmarks or a random piece of paper? 

Honestly, random piece of paper these days. I have tons of bookmarks, but like guitar picks, they for some reason have the ability to turn invisible right before my eyes. Nowadays I’m so lazy and I rip off a tiny piece of paper or use a sticky note. Once I even used a whole sheet of copy paper folded up (waste of paper, I know, I’m sorry.)

3. Can you just stop anywhere or do you need to finish a chapter?

I can pretty much stop anywhere, which for me isn’t the greatest when I go back to read, because I end up reading from the top of the left page, forgetting I stopped midway through the right. One reading minute wasted LOL. But I do like finishing chapters before I put the book down, however I usually just stop wherever.

4. Do you eat or drink while reading?

Yup–I’m a snacker by nature, and of course I combine reading and snacking! I’m stealing what Emily said (because we all know how much I love C.S Lewis stuff): “C.S. Lewis once said, ‘Eating and reading are two pleasures that combine admirably.'” Like, what topic hasn’t he covered?

 

giphy (1)

You can’t forget the comfort food during an emotional part

5. Music or TV while reading?

I can listen to music while reading, but often reading drowns it out completely and I won’t even know what’s playing. I think reading with the TV is way way harder, unless I’m not in front of the TV, just nearby it. This is because the visual movements of the TV will distract me (I’m a visual person, so maybe that’s what plays a factor). But I can really drown those two out haha. My sister and I both like reading with music because the music, if matched correctly with the emotions in the book, enhance the reading experience. And for some reason a lot of them on our playlist do 😛

6. One book at a time or several? 

One book for sure. I don’t like skipping around or reading two at once–I used to have to do that for some school reading. One at a time, please.

7. Do you prefer to read at home or elsewhere?

I get more reading accomplished when I’m at home or in long car rides. I used to have a hard time reading during library time because I was surrounded by friends and couldn’t concentrate. And in public I get too distracted because I like people-watching (no, not creepy) and I just can’t focus for too long on my book. At home is where I read best, haha.

8. Read out loud or silently?

Silently, though my sister loves reading out loud (which can be very annoying haha). When I read out loud, for some reason I lose concentration and don’t comprehend the words completely enough. Silent reading is more effective.

9. Do you read ahead or skip pages? 

I used to have the worst habit of reading ahead (the ending), and flipping around a little. Though I have terrible short-term memory and forget it all anyway, I know I really shouldn’t. I don’t do either anymore.

10. Breaking the spine or keeping it new?

Breaking the spine? What does that mean? LOL usually if it’s a paperback, it can’t helped but be creased a little. My Harry Potter collection is in dire shape because they’re all paperback, so imagine reading an 800 page paperback book.The spine is definitely going to bend lol. But for the most part I try to be careful with my books, the pages, spine, covers, book jackets, etc. Books are golden, and should be avoided being mistreated. 😛

11. Do you write in your books?

I really don’t like to. I once had to for class, and ugh, didn’t like. It felt like I was vandalizing, even if I was just taking notes. My mom has a book she kept from the 80s in her high school class that has her notetaking in it, and when I read the book I was like “Moooom distracting ughhh.” xD (I’m a very picky bookworm, if you haven’t noticed).

Anyway, I hope you guys enjoyed the tag. Reading is amazing.

 

novel-tv-in-your-head

Per Sam

I nominate:

Leah//Clara//Madison//Katie//Bernie 

These are just the top 5 that popped into my head. If you weren’t nominated but want to do the tag, always go right ahead!

Pax in Christo,

Grace

14 thoughts on “The Book Lover’s Tag

  1. Yay thanks for tagging me Grace! 🙂 This seems like a really fun tag. And yes, I totally agree with what you were saying about writing in books. It always makes me feel like I’m vandalizing. 😛 Even writing in the Bible makes me feel uncomfortable. And I also have a bad habit of reading ahead, which I’ve been trying to break. xD

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh I know I’ve always had trouble writing in the Bible, I mainly just underline verses though. My grandma has 1,000s of notes in her Bible and I’m like “eghh.” xD And yes, reading ahead haha my sister has a terrible habit of doing that. xD

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

