NaPoWriMo Day #20: Kenning Poem

I can’t believe there are only ten more days of NaPo left! I just want to say I am so impressed with everyone participating, and especially with myself. I had no idea I could post consistently 20 days so far (that certainly didn’t happen last year) and so I am so excited to say we are officially in the home stretch. Keep going, guys! 

Today’s NaPo prompt challenged participants to write a “Kenning” poem. I will use the description from the website to best explain!

Basically, they are ways of calling something not by its actual name, but by a sort of clever, off-kilter description — for example, the sea would be called the “whale road.”

The challenge is to think of a single person or thing, and then describe them/it using only two words per line without ever saying the actual object in the poem. Best of luck to those doing this particular prompt today! (I did bend the rules a little, but I think it’s okay!)


Page-turner
time-burner
idea-churner
history-learner,

all-nighter
tear-fighter
death-spite-r
nail-biter.

journey-weaver
romantic-dreamer
chilling-feeler
effective narrative-wielder.

world-builder
realistic thriller
plot-twister
desire-fulfiller.

heart-warmer
truth-holder
life-changing
never gets older.

A good novel.

3 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo Day #20: Kenning Poem

Leave a Reply

