Writing Slump + What I’m Looking Forward to in the Summer!

Hey guys! I shamefully must admit I went MIA again these past few weeks, but it’s not just because I’m busy. Lately I’ve been dry of writing ideas for the blog, but I’m going to do my best to brew some up soon.

Anyway, why not talk about summer a little bit? I don’t necessarily blog too much on personal happenings, except for Christian/music related entries, but I thought it might be nice to shake things up a bit and talk to you guys about what I’m looking forward to in the summer.

  1. Book Releases and New Buys! (So basically: LOTS OF READING)

I’ve been waiting quite some time for the release of the final installment in Rick Yancey’s The Fifth Wave series. While the first book was actually very engaging and interesting, I didn’t understand the second book at all and really didn’t like it. It was way shorter than the first, basically took place in two settings only, and tried to pull a plot twist that didn’t sit well with me. I, of course, can’t start a series without finishing it so I’m willing myself to read the third. I just bought it at Barnes and Noble yesterday, and I’m hoping it’ll clear up whatever weirdness went on in the second :p The sample read was a little iffy though, so I’ll just have to see.

Another final installment, but this one much more to my delight, was also bought a week or so ago! The Mother Daughter Book Club Series by Heather Vogel Frederick is my absolute favorite childhood series, (along with Narnia of course *cough*) Her final final book, Mother Daughter Book Camp, just came out and now I have to reread the series for the umpteenth time before I read that book haha! I’m so excited, and Emily over at FortheBookish gave a great review of it already! I am so happy Ms. Frederick listened to our pleas of writing another book (we just couldn’t end on Wish you were Eyre now could we?) and I cannot wait to get to it.

Other books I bought and can’t wait to read:

  • The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton
  • The Salt of the Sea by Ruta Sepetys 
  • The Screwtape Letters by C.S Lewis (*internally screams!* I can’t wait to read this!)
  • Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone
  • The Giver by Lois Lowry (I read Gathering Blue in middle school, I’ve been meaning to read this one!)

My mom’s also pushing me to read a classic (and write a book report on it), which will be The Last of the Mohicans. I’m not complaining, I’m very intrigued to read it! Historical fiction is a huge favorite of mine, and this is a very famous piece of American literature. Have you read it yet? How was it?

2. Youth Group Retreats!

Another exciting ordeal: I’m going to Steubenville again this year, but not only Steubenville: the LEAD program.

Firstly, Steubenville is a Catholic youth retreat that takes place in various parts of the country in July. It’s a three day event where youth groups in the  region congregate in small groups, workshops, praise and worship, Confession, leader talks and the most intense adoration ever (yes I cried). It’s such a beautiful retreat and this year will be my second time going and my first time doing LEAD.

LEAD takes place the week leading up to the weekend of Steubenville, and you have to apply and be accepted in order to participate. I am so thrilled to have been chosen. I get to meet new people from different youth groups in my state and engage in workshops that not only improve (I hope!) my relationship with God and my faith, but also equip me with the tools to be a youth leader. No electronics, no distractions, all modesty and focus–this is a real retreat. I ask for your prayers that I don’t take this opportunity for granted but really really use it to my full advantage. It seems like a lot but I am so excited!

I also hope to get into a daily habit of reading the Bible. My mom read recently that the Bible should be our highest form of education (I need to find the quote and the author of it, it was so true what he said!). If we learn our Bibles, we know the truth fully. I know many Christians (including myself, unfortunately) don’t take the time to really read the Bible often or really…at all. It’s hard because I used to go to school where we had religion class and read the Bible in class. I never really made a habit of reading at home. This summer, I hope to fashion a schedule that gives me time to read the Bible daily, leaving me with no excuse when I don’t read it. What about you? Do you find time to read the Bible daily, or at least very often? What are your thoughts and advice on that?

3.Driving

OK maybe I’m not really looking forward to this but I have gotten more confident. I still hold a permit, but am nearing my licence. I’m totally not ready yet, but I need to get more sure of myself so instead of asking for directions from my dad as I drive, driving becomes an extension of me (as my father says) and I can focus, then, on where I’m going xD I need to be able to do that when I drive alone LOL. Who else is driving this summer, nearing their license test, etc?

4. Blogging (and Writing)!

Once I finish school, I’m going to be regularly blogging again! I need to create a schedule that will allow me to blog consistently and keep up/excel in school. I miss you guys and alllll the things you post–I am so sorry for not commenting or liking or replying. But while I still have a bit of a block, I hope to get back into the groove 🙂 Thank you to everyone reading–you all are sincerely incredibly good people, and I hope each and every one of you are doing well!

God bless and I hope to be on here way more.

Pax in Christo,

Grace

10 thoughts on “Writing Slump + What I’m Looking Forward to in the Summer!

  1. It’s totally fine, Grace! Everyone has their own break every once and a while. Plus, I just got off my own (*cough*2 months*cough* *cough*) break, so you’re not alone. 😉
    Glad you’re back, and can’t wait what else you have in store for us to read. ❤
    ~ Suzy
    PS: YAY FOR NEW BOOKSS 😃

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The LEAD program for Steubenville sounds really exciting, congrats!! 🙂 And ahhhhh I didn’t realize the last book for Mother Daughter came out!! I loved those books so I need to get a hold of that one asap. And even though I’ve had my permit for a while now and have done a lot of driving, I still don’t feel ready lol. xD Hopefully I’ll be able to get my license soon though!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh my goodness I didn’t know you liked that series too!! I follow her blog, also, do you follow it? She does this Saturday Story Starter thing and I used to comment on it with a story to the prompt and she actually responded before! It was awesome. Yeah I’ve had my permit almost a whole year and I haven’t practiced save for once or twice a week, and once took a 3 month break. But what’s the rush? LOL.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh, I have been on her blog before a while back actually! I should go on again now that you’ve mentioned it, haha! Haha yeah that’s how I see it. I’m going to get my license one day eventually so why rush?

        Liked by 1 person

  3. That’s a good list of books *nods* I’ve been meaning to read The Screwtape Letters too, and The Outsiders and The Giver are both GREAT!! Don’t feel guilty about taking a break, because I frequently go MIA (bc school and shtuff, ya know *shrugs guiltily*) myself. That youth retreat sounds so good! And YEET you’re getting your license! I could have gotten mine earlier, but I’m lazy so I’ll probably test for it over summer. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • I just finished the Outsiders yesterday–it was so good! I really liked the fact the author was 15-16 when she wrote it. Yeah going MIA has been a bit easy lately because of school and everything xD The retreat is going to be an amazing experience, I bet. I plan to write about it when I get back! And yes I was the same way, I could’ve gotten it in November but I didn’t get my permit until July of last year and I have to wait a whole year. But what’s the rush, xD As a homeschooler I don’t have too many places to go yet, but the sooner the better haha xD

      Like

Leave a Reply

