Title Still in Progress: Song Rough Draft

Disclaimer: I know this kind of a darker song, but it’s just a small vent on my experience with some friends of mine. (c) Grace@From the Tip of Grace’s Pen, may take this down later, but what do you think of it? I’m quite serious about this song, because I have music to go along with it and everything.

It doesn’t matter what you do now
I’m just counting up the seconds til you fall out.
We can’t turn back time to save yourself
from falling in the holes you made yourself.
Once upon a time I’d give everything
to pull you back into reality.
but now:
here’s the catch
I won’t.

[chorus]
Cause I did time and time again tell you to run
I’d take the calls of your dying efforts
though I didn’t think to have ever won
I thought I could reverse this trend
I thought I could save my friend.

But it’s clear you never listened,
you were living in your head.

[guitar chords]

It still kills me to see you this way
But I’m pulling the plug and walking away.
I’m watching from a distance now
Since none of my assistance worked anyhow.
I gave you my words, but you pushed them away.
Now I’m waiting for you to self-destruct any day.
My frustration will stay locked up inside;
I can’t control what you decide.
No:
I can’t
But I’ve tried.

[chorus]
Cause I did time and time again tell you to run
I’d take the calls when your efforts were dying
though I didn’t think to have ever won
I thought I could reverse this trend
I thought I could save my friend

But it’s clear to me you never listened
you were living in your head.

Somebody else has taken your place
I can’t read any of your thoughts in his face.
What went wrong, why did you do this?
I don’t understand.

Cause I did time and time again tell you to run
I’d take the calls when your efforts were dying
though I didn’t think to have ever won
I thought I could reverse this trend
I thought I could save my friend.

 

I knew you never listened.

We were both living in our heads.

8 thoughts on “Title Still in Progress: Song Rough Draft

Leave a Reply

