The Wisteria Writer Tag

Greetings friends! Today I present you with another fun tag (tags and challenges are just my favorite haha). I was nominated by the always fabulous and talented Misty @ Creative World of Writing  for the Wisteria Writer Tag!

Le Rules:

  • Thank the blogger who nominated you.
  • Answer the ten questions asked.
  • Add ten (writing or book related) of your own.
  • Nominate ten people.

Thanks Misty for tagging me!

Le Questions:

1. Why do you write?

I write for many, many reasons. As of right now, it’s usually to let off steam or to put into words an idea or a feeling I have. Any time I write I feel a lot more composed, because I got out what I was feeling and it’s no longer inside. It’s just a way to express my ideas and get out what I’m feeling. 🙂

2. When did you start writing?

The earliest I recall writing was age 7. Something (I don’t know what) inspired me to write a whole story. It wasn’t that great of a story, I can tell you, but I always mark it as the beginning of Grace’s writing career. If you want to go even earlier back, I would read books with pictures but instead of reading what was written, I’d make up my own stories based on the pictures I saw. I was also full of ideas and stories because I devoured as many books as I could!

3. What/who inspired you to start writing?

I honestly don’t know what specifically inspired me–I think I was just so into reading that I wanted to write what I read (not necessarily what I read, but I just wanted to write books too!). Characters may have inspired me, such as Roald Dahl’s Matilda or James and the Giant Peach. All I knew was that I wanted to get my stories out there, too.

4. What are your top five favorite books/series?

The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis (yes, the entiiireee series, ladies and gents).

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak.

Magic Strings of Frankie Presto by Mitch Albom (and his more popular book Tuesdays with Morrie).

Salt to the Sea by Ruta Septys (I recently read this, and it’s so going up there with my top 5).

Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier. Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart.

I have so so so many more, plus I cheated so moving along >.>

5. Do you prefer to handwrite or type your stories? Why?

Type my stories all the way! My handwriting is absolute chicken scratch, and I’m one of those people that has so many thoughts coming at her at once that to write them down by hand would result in literal swirly lines and not letters. I need to type because then I can get them down faster, more coherently, and more legibly at that. Plus I can go back and edit later and I wouldn’t need to use white out or squish alternative sentences in the margins. Make no mistake, I still use a journal when I’m in bed and I feel the urge to write stuff down, but if we’re talking about really writing: type.

TypingBla_zps17078424

When those words hit you at 60 mph.

 

6. How do you document your ideas and inspiration?

Hm, usually these ideas and inspirations result in songs or small poems, and I have a journal from when I was in the 8th grade where I write down anywhere from prose to one sentence ideas because they popped into my head and I really liked them. So normally I just write it down in a journal on any page I flip to (not very organized of moi). Looking back I really appreciate doing that, because often I’ll go off of the line I had written and create a whole song or short prose out of it. I highly recommend always jotting down any creative inklings that hit you–you may need to use them later, and it’s always great to be able to access them again.

7. Are you interested in publication? 

When it comes to poetry, yes! I’m more confident that I can produce material in that area of writing, because I’m better at it and it’s less of a time commitment. I know it’s not guaranteed to get a story or novel published by publishing companies, and I just don’t think I have the focus for longer novels and short stories. I have had poetry published in books and once or twice in a magazine, so I would be up for that. 🙂

8. What is your favorite genre to write in? 

Often, realistic fiction because I’m more knowledgable in that area 😛 It’s often difficult to balance the realistic qualities and the fantastical characteristics of the sci-fi and fantasy stuff. I like to explore the human mind a bit, so I often gravitate to realistic fiction. I used to dabble in mystery too–I am a huge Nancy Drew fan (I’ve read up to, like, book 36? Who else is a fan! Let me know!). I should try diving back into mystery too.

ndlostfiles

Can I just say: childhood? Also I own this book, it is the coolest thing ever.

 

9. What is your favorite genre to read?

Historical fiction, romance (only a little though) and realistic fiction. I particularly enjoy historical fiction the most, because I really enjoy history (especially World War II and all the technological, political and social developments in that time period). Some great historical reads are The Book Thief, Salt to the Sea, A Land Remembered, The Hired Girl etc. The list is quite small but if you have any historical fiction reads you love, let me know!!

10. Lastly, where do you hope to be as a writer in ten years?

I hope to be writing in my faith–that is either working for a Catholic publishing company of sorts, or writing about my faith for others, or something that involves those two things. My writing and my faith are central in my life!

Thank you again Misty for tagging me.

My Questions: 

  1. Do you write for yourself or for others?
  2. Who has helped you improve your writing?
  3. Name three books that have been central in your writing (as in, they inspired you to write, or write a specific story, etc.)
  4. What is your least favorite genre and why?
  5. If you could, would you try to change the landscape for young adult novels of this generation? How? (if this question is confusing: the norms of young adult novels today are pretty obvious–would you want to change them with your writing and how?)
  6. If you could write/collaborate on a novel with one author, who would it be?
  7. What’s your writing process?
  8. What do you do to get out of writer’s block?
  9. Do you like to listen to music when you write? Why or why not?
  10. How has writing changed your life (if it has–and it’s OK if it hasn’t!)?

Nomination time~

Emily // Leah // Zielle // Madison // Bernie // Grace (Girl Upstairs)// Sarah// Clara // Lainey // Lily

If you were already nominated, sorry about that! And if you weren’t nominated but would love to do the tag, go right ahead and say I nominated you 😉

Pax in Christo,

Grace~

15 thoughts on “The Wisteria Writer Tag

  1. I loved reading your answers! It seems that you have a long history of writing stories! 😀 Some of my favorite historical fiction books are Fever 1793 by Laurie Halse Anderson and Calico Captive by Elizabeth George Speare. I loved those two books! 😀 OOH! And how could I forget? The Witch of Blackbird Pond is amazing, too! I LOVED it! 🙂
    -Emma-

    Liked by 1 person

    • Why thank you so much for reading, Emma! Ooh I think I remember hearing about Fever 1793, I am definitely going to check out all of those books. Thank you so much for the recommendations, Emma. I’m always looking for new historical fiction reads 🙂 ❤

      Like

      • You’re welcome! They’re all fantastic, I definitely recommend The Witch of Blackbird Pond above all! 😉 I think I’m going to look into The Book Thief soon! 🙂
        -Emma-

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Like Emma said above, The Witch Of Blackbird Pond is an absolutely amazing book that makes me wish all books were like it! I’m a typer also, because like you, my ideas burble out and my handwriting becomes chicken scratches that are not even decipherable by me!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for the nomination, Grace! 🙂 Have you read Between Shades of Grey by Ruta Sepetys? I hadn’t heard of Salt to the Sea, but I read Between Shades of Grey and loved that one! (Although it was almost one of those heart ripping books as well)

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re so welcome Bernie! I have not read Between Shades of Grey but I’ve heard of it, and I remember that the cousin of the protagonist (the cousin would be Joanna, right?) is one of the main characters in Salt to the Sea! Meaning: I HAVE to get my hands on Between Shades of Grey. Thanks for reminding me to get it! You should definitely read Salt to the Sea, this author is very talented 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

