Take Me Back

take me back to the time where freedom had one meaning,
where the scope with which I looked through was not
shrunken by falsities or beaten down by enmities-

take me back to when we did not have to fear
stepping on shards of glass and pointed steel
where the world was blanketed with soft meadows.

time was but a word, and you were but my friend.
we would sing together in harmony,
but now they tell us homonymy.

they took two sides of fabric we conjoined
and they slowly broke each stitch. Now
we are two colors again, instead of one.

take me back to the time where my tears
were of joy. where my cries were of
happiness. where my heart swelled
because it was filled with love.

not this.
not this.
not where we question everything said
now where suspicion is the thief
that slithers between us
and snatches our words and
wrenches them and pounds them
into foreign voices.

take me back to the time
where I knew you
and you knew me.

and the things they attempted to seed in our minds,
were plastic adages we knew to discard.

6 thoughts on “Take Me Back

  1. Oh. This is so painfully relatable. >.< I especially like, "now where suspicion is the thief
    that slithers between us
    and snatches our words and
    wrenches them and pounds them
    into foreign voices.

    take me back to the time
    where I knew you
    and you knew me."

    Gorgeous.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

