These Facades

look, my friend.
these facades
these shimmering,
glossy facades.
these glittering,
jeweled facades.
they may wrap around
your mottled spirit,
thick and unyielding.

they may dupe me.
they may provoke me.
these dazzling,
shiny facades.
they may catch me
off guard, streak me
with envy.
they may trick me at first,
poison my thinking.

they pour toxins in me,
mixed with unsavory thoughts.

but these facades show me:
some people are still
trapped in the gilded age.

an invisible standard is
the lengths you go,
the backbreaking lengths
you go.

But why?
Is admittance so locked up
behind thinly painted lips,
it cannot intrude?

look, my friend.
these facades know me,
and I can see right through them.

6 thoughts on “These Facades

Leave a Reply

