Thankfulness!

Today is Thanksgiving Day in America, a holiday that causes us to reflect on what we’re thankful for and to come together with our families to experience this thankfulness. Not everyone is fortunate enough to be thankful for the things I am thankful for, or to have a family to share this holiday with. I pray God comforts them, that they have a blessed day even if it’s not as grand as someone else’s. 

While this hasn’t been the most perfect Thanksgiving (but what holiday is ever perfect?), I am still so thankful and truly appreciative of what God has given me. For all things I am grateful for stem from God and His goodness. I know I haven’t been showing my gratitude to Him as I should. Something I’m still working on. But as I reflect, there is plenty I can say thank you to Him about.

This past month, my mother broke her foot. It was a clean break in the area of her foot where the most pressure is put. As of right now, she has to be off her foot for a few more weeks, and my sister and I have taken up all of her chores in addition to our own and our schooling. It hasn’t been easy, but it’s shown me just how much my mother does for me that I don’t pay attention to. I usually think I have it down: I know what everyone has done for me and I’m grateful. But it’s not until you experience what they do yourself that you feel and understand that gratitude.

At the same time, it’s been difficult to make dinner every night. Families in our youth group have been so generous with their time in bringing us meals. We’ve never had that kind of help before, so having someone do this for us was…just so incredible. It was so revealing of the true beauty of the human race. I am so grateful for those families, and I wish them a healthy and happy holiday season. The feeling when someone does something for you, when you think you can do it yourself but you can’t, is an indescribable  feeling and it fills my heart with gratitude. We’ve already written thank you notes, but the feelings can’t be captured in the loops of my handwriting.

I don’t always feel grateful, and I don’t always feel like the things I have are worth being grateful for. It’s a selfish feeling, and this holiday helps put everything into perspective. Truthfully I wished everyday was the day I spent being grateful. But in our fast-paced lives, and where some of us have things handed to them, you completely forget or you don’t make the effort because you have something else to be doing.

I hope all of you take this day, American or not, to slow down and count your blessings. To appreciate your family no matter the problems within it. To think about those less fortunate than you. You can pray for their well being and show your gratitude to whoever you can. I’m not a perfect person by any means, and I know it might be difficult, but that’s what I plan on doing the rest of today. To just slow down and show my gratitude.

Have a blessed Thanksgiving, don’t eat too much food! Stay safe. May God bless you and may you know how much He provides ❤

Pax in Christo,

Grace

5 thoughts on “Thankfulness!

  1. Loooooved this post, Grace! It’s so true. My sister and I went through a similar situation when my mom traveled out of country to visit relatives, and we had to juggle schoolwork, chores, cooking, etc. (especially with my sister being a senior!). It must be harder for you guys since your mother’s injury will take quite a while to heal, but it still helped us to appreciate our mom more. We really do have so much to be thankful for. ❤️

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

