The Hamiltag

Happy Friday, friends!

Today I’m doing the ‘Hamiltag,’ a tag about all things, you guessed it, Hamilton! If you don’t know about Hamilton, it is a Broadway musical that came out last year, and it follows the life of Alexander Hamilton, one of America’s founding fathers, during the American Revolution and the birth of our new nation. It really is a unique musical to me, as it combines hip hop, rap, and other rarer musical elements to produce really powerful songs. (Non-Stop just does it for me, you guys). If you haven’t given Hamilton a listen yet, you really should! Rap really isn’t my cup of tea, but this is my exception 😉

So, the Hamiltag was created by the awesome Grace@The Girl Upstairs. Thanks Grace for nominating a fellow Hamilton-loving Grace! 😛

Rules:

-Answer the questions left for you
-“Pass Your Legacy” to at least five other HamilFans (Oh dear I don’t know if I know that many! Can I tag you back Grace? LOL JK)
-Use my questions, or leave “10 Duel Commandments” of your own
-Let them know they’ve been nominated

The 10 Duel Commandments:

1.) How did you discover Hamilton?

It was in my creative writing club! We were in a meeting talking about how songs can inspire writing. One of the club sponsor’s examples was Satisfied from Hamilton. She’s like, “This musical is my new obsession, it’s really really good.” We listened to the song and I’m like ‘WHAT IS THIS WHAT AM I LISTENING TO.’ But then I kind of didn’t care about it for a while. I was on YouTube, and I saw something about Hamilton and that’s when I started listening to the entire album on repeat. I became Hamiltrash from that moment forward.

2.) Who is your favorite character?

Either Angelica Schuyler or Thomas Jefferson. I mean he’s HILARIOUS. Listen to him in What’d I Miss and Cabinet Battle #1.

3.) What’s your absolute favorite song?

Non-Stop hands down. There is so much happening in that song, and I especially love how they break into several different songs toward the end. THE MAGIC. But you guys know Grace doesn’t have favorites when it comes to music, so honestly, I also love Yorktown (World Turned Upside Down), Quiet Uptown, Schuyler Sisters, and Satisfied and Guns and Ships and Wait for It and Room Where it Happens. Yeah.

4.) Music wise, which is better, Act I or Act II?

Honestly, most of my favorite songs are in Act I. I think most of the songs in Act I are better than Act II. But everything’s awesome. It’s Hamilton, so…

5.) What’s your dream role?

Well I can’t sing or dance, and I’ll never get to see the actual musical so I don’t know ;-; I just want to watch it, I don’t need to be in it!

(most likely to be Peggy if anything else)

6.)  What’s your favorite quote?

“How do you write like your running out of time?”

“How does a rag-tag volunteer army in need of a shower, somehow defeat a global superpower?”

“I’m just like my country, I’m young scrappy and hungry.”

“Death doesn’t discriminate between the sinners and the saints, it takes and it takes, and we keep living anyway, we rise and we fall and we break..”

“I’ll keep all my plans close to my chest, I’ll wait here and see which way the wind will blow, I’m taking all my time watching the afterbirth of a nation, watching the nation grow…”

and

“You don’t have the votes, ah ah ah aha” (OK that part cracks me up EVERY time).

and like 50 others quotes. Me and my favorites.

7.)  Describe what Hamilton means to you using only 3 words.

Powerful, inspiring, and addictive (I so know what you mean Grace)

8.) Who do you consider your “Hamilton Buddy?” (Someone who you can ramble, fangirl, or sing Hamilton with)

I don’t really have a Hamilton buddy, but there are a few blogs and friends where I’ve fangirled, and instances where I had a few sporadic long conversations about crying and emotions and feels and stuff. But no real Hamilton Buddy lol. #loner #noneofmyclosefriendslistentohamilton

9.) How has Hamilton impacted your life?

It helped me study for the AP US History exam? #noregrets  I mean I got a FIVE so thanks Hamilton for helping me study for like 5% of the exam LOL.

10.) What is the best thing about Hamilton?

I’m fascinated by the intricate writing of each song. Such careful rhythm, the nuances of each musical and lyrical composition. I mean these songs are real writing masterpieces. But I say the best thing is how it teaches U.S. history in such a fresh, unique, and appealing way. While it’s not a complete substitute for a history lesson, it’s really special from anything I’ve seen it how it relates the history of our nation to people.

These are fabulous questions, Grace! For those of you who want to do this tag, use her questions 😉

Well I don’t know 5 Hamilfans in the blogosphere other than the ones Grace tagged really. So, you know, if you are a Hamilfan, please let me know in the comments! So we can fangirl together and work on rapping Guns and Ships!

Hope you guys enjoyed!

Pax in Christo,

Grace

30 thoughts on “The Hamiltag

  1. Yes! Hamilton!!!!!! I actually don’t know if I’ve mentioned Hamilton at all on my blog…hm….but I am a fan!!!!!!! And like you, I don’t really listen to rap, but Hamilton hooked me anyway! Just goes to show how good it is!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve been in love with your blog for a while now and when I saw this post I thought, “well, we’re fellow Hamilovers, why not?” So here I am, commenting. 🙂 Would you mind if I did this tag? You have a lovely blog by the way, I really enjoy hanging out on here!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

