Trusting in Him

How often do I place my trust in God?

Not often enough.

Trusting in Him

All around us, society says things. “Be your own person!” “You don’t need a man.” “You’re beautiful the way you are.” “You have the power to control.” “You can do this.”

It’s pretty empowering stuff, and it’s nice to hear when I’m feeling hopeless or downtrodden. But for the most part, it isn’t true. Yes, I can do things, and I do have the power to control how I react to situations. But these messages put myself before God.

I do need a man. His name is Jesus. I’m not beautiful the way I am sometimes. I’m full of sin and the need to repent. I can’t do everything on my own, and the idea I shouldn’t need someone, that I can do this all on my own, bruises me, because I desperately need someone to help me. I know that for a fact. I can tell myself over and over again “I’m not going to do that anymore,” or “I’m going to change this about myself.” But I never can, because I’m human and I can easily drift back into what I shouldn’t be doing.

In situations were you feel like you’re constantly losing, (as I feel right now), looking to these societal messages to keep up the fight just isn’t sufficient. Only God has the strength and power to endure.

Yesterday in Mass, a visiting priest made the statement: “Keep reaching  for justice, even if you won’t get it.” God is all about justice, and He knows the injustice you are dealing with. But He won’t always grant it to you when you want it, because His plan is not our own. That doesn’t mean give up necessarily–continue to pray for those who are putting you down, who are holding you back, who are acting unfairly. But ask for the grace and humility to accept what you cannot control, and if you remain defeated, remember to trust in God’s plan for you.

You cannot do everything and you weren’t meant to do everything. I look at what’s going on in our country; the noise hurts my head and the constant negativity hurts my heart. I look at what’s going on in my parish, and I continue to feel hopeless.

And I know why I never feel like I’m getting anywhere. It’s because I forget to place my trust in God. I keep telling myself that I can do what I need to do, that I have the ability to change what needs to be changed. But what if this is not God’s plan? If I feel like there is no progress, it means either one of two things: a.) It isn’t meant to be in God’s plan, or b.) It isn’t time yet for this progress to be made.

So what I need to do is to just place my trust in Him. Not in myself, or in another person. As imperfect creatures, there is no guarantee that what has been promised by me or another will be fulfilled. But what is promised by God will be fulfilled. And that is what I need to remember as I face injustice and unfairness in my surroundings. It’s easy to feel hopeless in times where nothing is going your own way, or you see unfair and wrong things happening right where you are. But God will deliver you from it.

I have a hard time believing this, but that is where true faith and trust exists.

I’m basically writing this post for myself, but I extend it to all of you. I encourage all of you to join me in prayer, to pray for me and to pray for others, who are struggling with trusting God and His plan. These are trying times (but aren’t they always?) and what’s important is to remember that God is in control, and that trusting in Him is what will get us through. If God brought you to it, He will bring you through it.

May the Blessed Mother guide us, and may the Spirit of the Lord keep our eyes focused and our hearts full of compassion and understanding. Trust in Him.

Pax in Christo,

Grace

13 thoughts on “Trusting in Him

  1. Nice post.
    Since God is our parent and we are His children (in our ideal state), His love will always precede each and every laws in the Universe. Actually, the principles founded by him are infused with His absolute and abundant, active love, care and compassion.
    For me, understanding -in my heart- God is beyond time and space gave me a kind of liberation: for Him there are two states: the long-awaited Ideal, the Heavenly Kingdom and these days.
    Seeing from this aspect, it made me much easier to see the unforeseeable end of challenges and tribulations. But knowing Him is stronger than my own expectations towards myself…
    God never gives up on you, so…:)

    Blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is so inspirational. Sometimes I believe I can do things all by myself, but then I stumble and realize I can’t. Thank you for a well written post. God is awesome, I don’t know what I would do without his unexplained love.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So true! People drive me crazy with all their statements like that because it’s away from God and away from God is not good.
    (And no, I don’t really have anything to comment about … but … but … I felt like I should express liking this post, so …)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

