NaPoWriMo Day #5: Rest

(eh, this is a pretty “half-baked” poem; I’m just struggling to find the time right now to write D:) (also I am so sad the formatting for this poem doesn’t work in WordPress nuuuuu)


Soothing silk slides across my face,
smoothing hard-pressed thought lines,
caressing my cheek and sweeping away.
It unties the knots in my muscles,
and straightens my weakened spine.

A soft song weaves itself through,
engulfing deadlines, yelling, strains.
It steadies my heart to an even beat;
a crescendo of notes lifts me from my mess,
and
i
begin
to
dream.

Hums gradually wrap around me,
the march of strings builds within,
and my
soul
begins
to
dance.

There is no unworthy desire,
there is no scolding or crying
there is no degradation of the spirit.

There is only a fearless embrace,
when i see with radiant eyes
my life is no longer a calendar
of dates
and assignments
and demands

it is a pallete of fears,
emotions,
imagination,
of passion,
desires,
and visions.

But when I awake
I am met
with the same
weight,
pressure,
drag.

Oh.

How I yearn to
be at
rest
again.

7 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo Day #5: Rest

Leave a Reply

